I AM MORE!

“I am more than my scars” – She said.
When rancid hate, used twisted fate,
As an excuse to scar my face.
For rise I shall beyond empty shells,
I am more than a few lines on my face.
My smile might never show my teeth,
But it will never bear fangs in return.
Now I am more than your silly hate!

“I am more than my scars” – She said.
When your misplaced anger, displaced bones;
And battered blows, rained from bitter’d pride.
Despite my bodily agony,
I will fight for peaceful harmony.
Rise, I will above your misogyny!

My skin may be singed with hate,
But my laughter resounds with love and life.
Your pride may have stunned me with blows,
But I walk around with my head held high.
For I am more than what you see:
I am a woman, I am a mother, a sister, a friend,
I am love, I am life, I am a million things
All more than some scars on my skin!

Watch the story of Monica Singh – a survivor here

Photo Credits: The women of Sheroes’ Hangout.

The Mahatma Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi once said “strength does not come from physical capacity. It comes from an indomitable will”.

This poem is a humble salute to those that have had to steel their will, to those that have had to test their strength and to those that survived. I will not victimize you, i will not pity you and will not feel sad for you for you have survived! I only hope that I may be allowed to emulate you, somewhere, some day! Thank you!

To those that survived,
May we learn to emulate your strength.
May we learn to find peace.

Share it! Leave a comment! Thanks!

As always, Be kind and have fun!

Cheers!

2 thoughts on “I AM MORE!

  1. Dear suchithra
    My sister
    Sheela Ramanathan ( you can google her) had fought for the acid victims , and has even got a legislation for compensation
    For these unfortunate
    Your poem is exactly what
    She is believing in
    I am really impressed
    Coming on this particular day
    It’s more meaningful

    • I am so glad to hear that a legislation has been enacted to protect the interests of those that survived and surpassed this horrible ordeal. I only hope that one day it wont be necessary.
      It’s nice to hear from you. I am glad you liked the poem. 🙂
      Cheers

Leave a Reply

